If you could summon your perfect love…..imagine

Young Sally Owens: Summoning up a true love spell called Amas Veritas. He can flip pancakes in the air. He’ll be marvelously kind. And his favorite shape will be a star. And he’ll have one green eye and one blue.
Young Gillian Owens: Thought you never wanted to fall in love.
Young Sally Owens: That’s the point. The guy I dreamed of doesn’t exist. And if he doesn’t exist, I’ll never die of a broken heart.
Practical Magic- 1998

If you could summon your perfect love what would you ask for ?

Somebody who I respect and admire asked me to write about my perfect love . Pretend we are little girls and summon your true love and all the qualities he will have. I feel a lot like Sally in Practical Magic. In the fact that the guy I want doesn’t exist then I can never have a broken heart again.  However if he did… he will be strong and sweet at the same time…He will sing love songs to me and protect me…He will cook like Emril Lagasse and dance like a B-boy..He will make me laugh everyday…He will be my best friend and always have my back…He will be book smart and street smart… he will love to lay under the stars with me @ the beach just to listen to the ocean at night…He would touch me in a way that would make me melt…He would look at me like I was the most beautiful girl in the world and make me feel like that everyday…He will be tall and very handsome…Most importantly he would love me for me and never compare me to another…And just to make it fun he will have half green and half blue eyes… And finally he would never ever hurt me in any way…I guess what I am asking for is just real true L O V E

While most of this is a little girls fantasy, at the end of the day what matters is the person who respects you, stands by you and will make you soup when you feel sick and lay in bed with you until you feel better. A person who is true who is real and who you feel you can be yourself around. No games, no pretending, just a real MAN. And definitely no boys!

So I am sending this out to the universe. Lets see what our heart and mind can manifest from our soul.

…And nobody but Robin Thicke sings about what my perfect guy would be like…

7 Responses to “If you could summon your perfect love…..imagine”

  1. It’s funny that you blogged about this. I’ve always loved Practical Magic and whenever I’ve thought of true love, Sally and her thoughts have always come to mind.

    I love the letter she writes to GIllian.

    “I dream of a love that even time would lie down and be still for…”

  2. Reblogged this on Preconscious and commented:
    “Sometimes I feel like there’s a hole inside of me, an emptiness that at times seems to burn. I think if you lifted my heart to your ear, you could probably hear the ocean. The moon tonight, there’s a circle around it. Sign of trouble not far behind. I have this dream of being whole. Of not going to sleep each night, wanting. But still sometimes, when the wind is warm or the crickets sing… I dream of a love that even time will lie down and be still for. I just want someone to love me. I want to be seen. I don’t know. Maybe I had my happiness. I don’t want to believe it but, there is no man, Gilly. Only that moon.” – Practical Magic [1998]

  3. I read this and thought “You know this is me”, not in a pigheaded way, but you have described the person who have always been…but when I’m in a relationship for too long, I start to forget and lose my way…hence my own journey reminding me of the person I am and will always be…pity your so far away 🙂

Leave a Reply

