Eat, love and then pray…..

I grew up with two parents that were the epitome of what the term soul mate means. They were very much in love. Even later in life they still acted like teenagers with each other.  One of the things they instilled in me and my sisters are love can conquer many things and ALL relationships take work, love, respect and honesty.  My dad passed away five years ago and I think about him every day.

I often think what was the secret that they knew that kept their love alive for almost 5 decades.

Is it that they came from a different time? A different generation? Things were different back then family values meant something. Is that it? Or did they have β€œthe formula ” to a perfect romance.

They fell in love and never fell out of it. So what is it? Growing up with them I can recall that they very rarely argued or raised their voices. I can’t recall ever hearing my dad even say a curse word in front of me my whole life. Not my mom, but my dad. Is it the respect that they had for each other coupled with love is that the formula? Love, laughter and if possible find some humor in it.That was my dad always smiling. Always making fun if he could .

I do remember much of our family activity centered around the dinner table. Both my parents love to cook . Making big breakfast and dinners for the whole family and always insisted we all eat together and talk about everything and anything. All discussions took place there. All marriages, pregnancies, college decisions, boyfriends were announced at that table.  They were both Italian both from Sicily, but were really raised here in America.  They kept the old school values alive even though they were very modern parents they kept the values of family alive. Their love for one another was just a magical thing. I guess they really were soul mates. My mom believes in her heart that they will meet again in another life and on the other side. I hope she is right. I also hope I get the privilege of being their child again in another life. I still pray to find the kind of love they had together.

So I share with you one of my dad’s favorite recipes and a Sunday dinner staple growing up.

I am giving you the meatballs recipe you can use any tomato sauce you like. But ours is a family secret.  πŸ˜‰

Papa Joe’s Meatballs

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup milk with 6 slices of white bread (ends cut off) soaked in milk. Then discard left over milk.
  • 1/2 cup breadcrumbs
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 6 leaves of fresh basil finely chopped
  • 3 cloves of garlic finely chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon fresh ground pepper
  • 1/2 cup grated locatelli parmesan cheese
  • 1 medium onion chopped finely

Mix all ingredients in a large bowl by hand.

Use your bare hands for best results.

Roll meatballs to about the size of a little bigger then a golf ball.

Fry  in a pan with olive or canola oil make sure to brown all sides

Simmer for about 2 hours in your choice of tomato sauce. Serve with fresh spaghetti .

13 Responses to “Eat, love and then pray…..”

  1. This is awesome! Thanks for sharing. I hope your parents find each other again, too. πŸ™‚

  2. I can’t cook for sh** but i swear to God, i’m trying your recipe!!! πŸ˜€ xoxoxo

  3. Who’s not going to like something called Papa Joes Meatballs? If I can make them look half as good as they do in your pic, I’ll be a happy guy.

  4. Very beautiful tribute to your parents. I believe that kind of long-lasting bond can be found in this day and age. It’s just about finding someone who is good for you and brings out the best in you πŸ™‚

  5. i can smell them in my head! gotta give out my turkey mb recipe one day :o)

  6. So true, I wish all parents could have this kind of love!

Leave a Reply

